Parangikkai thogayal/Pumpkin spread /Kaddhu rice mix

Vasanth and myself hate pumpkin and anything which has pumpkin in it. I realized one day that I have never introduced pumpkin to my daughter just because we dislike it. Obviously this is bad.One day my mom suggested this dish and asked me to give it a try. To my surprise it didn’t taste anything like pumpkin and i liked it too. So here goes the recipe of dish.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup chopped pumpkin

1 table spoon urad dhaal(black gram)

1/2 tsp channa dhaal(bengal gram)

2 dry red chillies

1 small strand of tamarind or 2 tsp of tamarind paste

1/3 cup of shredded coconut

2 pinch of asfoetida

salt to taste

How I made it:

1. Fry the chopped pumpkin in little oil and set aside after its done.

2.Dry roast Urad,Channa,Red chillies,Asfoetida.

3.Add coconut and turnoff the heat.

4.Grind together pumpkin,roasted ingredients,tamarind,salt into a fine paste.

Leave a Reply

