Arusuvai – Surprise Ingredient…

Its really a very nice feeling when We are treated special… I received a “Arusivai Surprise Ingredient ” through Ramya of ManeAdige

We both live in same apartment.. 🙂 So u all must be knowing how well i know her.. We go to GYM and chit chat and planning for outing.. I really dunno when that’s gonna happen.. 😦 …

Ramya’s Blog is like a newspaper for me.. Everyday i read her blog expecting a new recipe…She used to tell me abt her blog readers and the requests she receives for the recipes..and she told me that she is gonna bring me into this chain.. I was really happy n excited abt this.. One fine day at 9:45 am i heard a door bell and when i opened the door i found no one but the “Surprise Ingredient (Coriander Seeds) and a Gift”

It was a Flower Vase … Yupppee !!! I was already excited regarding the Surprise Ingredient and receiving a gift which i needed for a long time was really dream come true.. She told me that I happen to mention abt Flower Vase so she got that for me when She saw that in the store.. So Sweet of her rite guys !!!! Its really a nice and lucky to have such a nice neighbor..
Thanks Ramya !!!

Though Coriander seeds are common ingredient in Indian cooking I was thinking what different i can make out of it.. So I decided to prepare ” CAPSICUM /BELL PEPPER & EGGPLANT Yogurt Salad/ Pachadi “

Ingredient :

1 Big Capsicum/Green Bell Pepper,
2 Medium Eggplant
1/2 Tbs Urad daal ,
2 Dried Red Chillies
1 tsp Mustard
1 tsp Cumin seeds
1 tsp Channa Daal
1 tbs Peanuts
1 tbs Coriander seeds
1 green chili
1/2 tsp Turmeric
1 tbs Grated Coconut
1 Strand of Curry Leaves and Cilantro
1/2 tbs Ghee
1 Cup Sour Curd/Yogurt
Pinch of Hing (Asafoetida) and Salt to taste

Directions :
1. Cut Capsicum and eggplant into small pieces
2. Roast Urad daal,Coriander seeds, Dried Red chillies ,Asafoetida,Grated Coconut in a little oil and grind them into a paste( U can Add pepper corns if u want it more hot )
3.In a skillet add Ghee ,Mustard seed,Cumin seed,pinch of Asafoetida ,Green Chili,channa Daal,Peanuts ,Curry Leaves.
4.Add Capsicum and Eggplant and roast them.
5.Add the paste and salt to taste and fry for 2 minutes
6.Add curd and Garnish with fresh Cilantro.

I hope u like it 🙂

Note : It can be used as a side dish for Rice /Chapathi 🙂

Leave a Reply

